Experiment: Guacamole

All great things begin on YouTube.

In 2008, I was invited to go to my friend’s house to watch the NBA Western Conference finals. My mom had always taught me to bring a snack or a dessert when you are invited to someone’s home. With no confidence in my baking or cooking skills, I decided that I wanted to bring some guacamole, a game time favorite. I had no idea how to make guacamole, but was able to find a video on YouTube that guided me through the process. The video itself didn’t specify how much of each ingredient was necessary. Instead the chef advised viewers that the ingredient quantities really “depend on what you like”. Till this day, I still cook with this mantra.

I’ll admit that it’s helpful to reference a recipe when it’s your first time cooking something, but you often know better than anyone else how salty, spicy, sweet, or fatty you like your foods (I try my best to stay away from fatty). Letting go of the measuring cups and tablespoons makes it easier to remember how to prepare dishes and allows you to innovate each time you cook.

The ingredients for my guacamole are as follows: avocado, diced roma tomatoes, lime juice, chopped cilantro, diced red onion, cumin, black pepper, salt, and sriracha! Mix your own ratio of these ingredients into a bowl. Mash with a masher to your preferred consistency, and enjoy with some real tortilla chips (Michelle hates scoops).

This has been a party favorite at potlucks, multiple NBA championship viewing parties, as well as most recently, a 4th of July BBQ. So give it a try yourself! You will be surprised at how good guacamole can taste when it’s prepared with fresh ingredients.

If you are interested, here is the original inspirational YouTube video tutorial for Benji’s Perfect 10 Guacamole!

IMG_0328

Leave a Reply

