Experiment: Chia Seed Pudding

Constantly searching for quick, healthy, and filling breakfast foods, chia seed pudding has been my most recent fascination. While Jonny prefers a savory and hot breakfast burrito or egg sandwich, I often tend to enjoy something sweet in the morning.

Similar to the consistency of tapioca pudding, chia seeds soaked overnight in a milk of choice become gelatinous but still maintain their slightly firm texture. I personally like this pudding much more than the mushier feel of overnight oats, and I appreciate the ease of preparing the mixture the night before rather than in the bustle of my morning routine. And like any solid breakfast base, chia pudding can be enjoyed with a customizable variety of toppings and fruit combinations.

When I went home for Father’s day weekend, I whipped up a double batch of chia pudding to share with my family for Sunday breakfast.

4BF6FE38-5407-4667-943D-0523754F1D81
Chia seed pudding with strawberries, peaches, blueberries, and toasted walnuts
It was very delicious, but on a typical weekday, I definitely do not have enough time to toast nuts and prepare three different types of fruit. Normally, I mix and refrigerate my chia pudding in a small mason jar overnight and in the morning, I toss in some slivered dry-roasted almonds, slice in a fresh apricot, and am out the door.

The basic pudding recipe is easily customizable for diet preferences and sweetness, but I tend to roughly use the following for 2 servings:

  • 1/3 cup chia seed
  • 1 1/2 cup 2% milk (I have tried vanilla soy milk too, it works great!)
  • 2 teaspoons honey
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract

Combine all the ingredients in a jar and stir to unstick any seed from the bottom. Close the jar, give it a good shake, and pop it in the fridge. It will be ready to eat the next morning, but sometimes I feel that it tastes even better the morning after, once the chia seeds have swelled to their maximum capacity. Experiment until you find how you like it best and enjoy!

Leave a Reply

